Non-bikers can be targeted for wearing bikie-related clothes | Mackay Daily Mercury

RISKING JAIL: Attorney-General Jarrod Bleijie’s office says Caloundra’s David Souter could land in hot water for wearing this t-shirt he bought at a bike and hotrod show run by the Bandidos.
RISKING JAIL: Attorney-General Jarrod Bleijie’s office says Caloundra’s David Souter could land in hot water for wearing this t-shirt he bought at a bike and hotrod show run by the Bandidos.Brett Wortman

“WEARING this t-shirt doesn’t make me a bad bloke,” David Souter insists.

But it might be enough to get him thrown out of the local pub.

Under the State Government’s crackdown on bikie-related clothing, the t-shirt Mr Souter bought at one of the Bandidos Motorcycle Club’s bike and burn-out shows could land him in hot water.

But he says it won’t stop him wearing it.

“Of course I’m going to wear it. I don’t care if people want to harass me for it. We’ll see where it goes,” the Caloundra man said.

“I go to a lot of burn-out and hot rods shows.

“I like to get the t-shirts and wear them. I’ve got two t-shirts promoting the Bandidos’ burn-out.

“The last shirt I had has SYLB (Support Your Local Bandidos) on the back.

“If I wear this t-shirt, am I going to be harassed? Or am I going to be seen as having affiliation with a bikie club?”

His concerns came after two police officers reportedly questioned a man in Cairns for wearing a Sons of Anarchy t-shirt.

They mistook the shirt, bearing the emblem of the fictitious television bikie gang, for being a real gang’s symbol.

Read more below

Non-bikers can be targeted for wearing bikie-related clothes | Mackay Daily Mercury.

Leave a Reply

